The most usual reason is that the person who saved the style before sharing it set it so that the shared copy can't be edited (see How do I share my PerfectIt style with my organization? | PerfectIt Customer Knowledge Base).

If you need to make changes, ask the person who supplied you the style file to send you a copy that can be edited.